Style Arc Ethel Designer Top

A photo session before work!

IMG_0729I think I am in love with Style Arc patterns! Third on the trot and I love it

IMG_0734IMG_0741Style Arc describe this top as:

A gorgeous boxy shaped top with angled design lines that gives your wardrobe a new and fashionable look. The wide facings gave this top structure and style. This top has been cleverly structured to cover the top of your arms whilst not losing an of the design elements

IMG_0744The fabric is a lovely Sevenberry seersucker I bought on line from Raystitch. I love the little fish with their tiny fishhook tails

IMG_0709

 

I bought 1.5m. Of this fabric, it’s 110cm wide so less than the 1.7m recommended, but as I cut the front and back sections across rather than along the fabric I managed easily

IMG_0713

I finished the edges with my overlocker and used white thread to topstitch the diagonal sections and added another row of stitches close to the neck to hold the facing flat. All of the facings then had a row of topstiching holding them in place in a matching thread

IMG_0718

The facings on the sleeve are a bit of a pickle as there aren’t any diagrams on the pattern. The facings are attached and are sewn down to the point where the seam meets the side seam. The side seam is then sewn up to meet that point (fold the facings up and you can see where you need to go)

IMG_0719The bottom bit of the facings are then folded inwards, and are sewn by hand. I added a couple of stitches through the layers to stop the sleeve opening pulling at the seam

IMG_0715Really pleased with my fish placement at the front, worth the time measuring and checkingIMG_0716It’s a beautiful sunny day here in Wiltshire, so off to work in my fishy creation ✂️🐟🐠

10 thoughts on “Style Arc Ethel Designer Top

    1. Thank you for sharing these details. I am just in the middle of making a wearable toile(hopefully and I too have found the facing instructions confusing. You have explained it really well and I feel extremely confident to proceed. Many thanks

      Like

  1. Thanks for this. I’m halfway through mine and finding the instructions a bit too brief re. facings, so great to see your photos and explanation. Very helpful. Love your fabric too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love the style arc patterns but I’m not an experienced seamstress, so I really struggle with the limited instructions. I’m challenged by the hem facing right now.

      Like

      1. My advice with Style Arc is to have the pattern pieces handy as you sew, they really do rely on the pattern markings and you need to make sure you have them all. If you are stuck then googling ‘sewing hem facing’ should bring up a video that helps you 😺

        Like

  2. Thanks for posting details on the arm facings, that really helped me when I made this recently. The ‘Style Arc’ directions are so brief that I don’t think I’ll use them again for patterns. But I love the style of this top and have made it in linen and will make it again in a crinkle linen.

    Like

Leave a comment